Max Perutz Awardees

Eighth ECA Max Perutz Prize to Professor John Helliwell

John Helliwell led the development of the world’s first dedicated protein crystallography beamlines; he pioneered the collection of the first broad-band Laue diffraction patterns for protein and virus crystals using synchrotron radiation; he combined biochemistry, spectroscopy, microscopy, protein crystallography and small-angle scattering to study the crustacyanins. He contributed to some […]

2003: ECA Prize to Professor Carmelo Giacovazzo

The European Crystallographic Association is to award the third European Crystallography Prize to Prof. Carmelo Giacovazzo of the University of Bari, Italy. Prof. Giacovazzo is being recognized for his major theoretical and practical contributions to the solution of the phase problem in a wide spectrum of applications. The European Crystallography […]

2000: ECA Prize to Professor Ada Yonath

The European Crystallographic Association has awarded the first European Crystallography Prize to Professor Ada Yonath of the Weizmann Institute of Science Rehovoth, Israel and the Max-Planck Research Unit for Ribosomal Research, DESY, Hamburg, Germany, for her pioneering achievements in structural studies on the ribosome, the universal cellular organelle on which […]