Monthly Archives: October 2015

Welcome to the new ECA website

The ECA website has been redesigned to have a new look and functionality. Most of the contents of the previous site have been incorporated; if you find any missing or wrong information, please contact the ECA webmaster. The old site is still accessible at Please notice that your login/password […]

ECM30 in Basel (Switzerland)

Basel will held the 30th European Crystallography Meeting, ECM-30, from 28 August until 1 September 2016. ECM-30 will be a four-day vibrant and intensive scientific meeting with many learning opportunities in every current aspect of crystallography. In addition, there will be a Young Crystallographers meeting, workshops and user meetings, lunch […]

ECM-29 Poster Prizes

IUCr Poster Prize x3 Panel: Manfred Weiss, Carlo Mealli, Manuel Hinterstein, Artem Abakumov Field: Biological, Chemical and Physical Crystallography Sponsor: IUCr Prize: Complimentary print volume of International Tables for Crystallography Anton Brausemann, Institui für Biochemie, Alben-Ludwigs-Universitat Freiburg, Germany [MSS-PS Structural insight into the phytoene desaturase of rice] Eleonora Conterosito, Universila […]

ECM29 Opening ceremony

ECM29 in Rovinj, has been a big success Congratulations to the organizers and the crystallographic community! Here you can watch the Opening ceremony. The Opening Ceremony of the 29th European Crystallographic Meeting in Rovinj, Croatia, 23 August 2015. Includes the Award of the 8th Max Perutz Prize to Professor John […]

Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Giorgio Schiro

Announcing the winner of the Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association and European Neutron Scattering Association (ECA-ENSA) The Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) is awarded to Dr Giorgio Schiro from the Institut […]

Eighth ECA Max Perutz Prize to Professor John Helliwell

John Helliwell led the development of the world’s first dedicated protein crystallography beamlines; he pioneered the collection of the first broad-band Laue diffraction patterns for protein and virus crystals using synchrotron radiation; he combined biochemistry, spectroscopy, microscopy, protein crystallography and small-angle scattering to study the crustacyanins. He contributed to some […]

PANalytical Award 2015

With the yearly PANalytical Award the company seeks to encourage and provide support for excellent young scientists who are at the beginning of their careers. The award recognizes and praises groundbreaking research that required the use of a laboratory X-ray diffraction, X-ray fluorescence or X-ray scattering instrument as the primary […]


Crystals – known to everybody as gems, snow crystals, or salt grains – are widespread in the nature around us. The investigation of their structure and properties means looking inside the intimate of atom geometries – a look contributing to the scientific development of chemistry, solid state physics, Earth sciences, […]

Crystallization Competition in the School

The Crystallization Competition in the School is an innovative contest on Crystallography and Crystallization for young students aged 12-16. It is organised in Spain and coordinated by the Spanish Specialized Group of Crystallography and Crystal Growth (GE3C). During the 2013/2014 school year the Competition is organised in 7 geographical areas […]