George M. Sheldrick Prize

The George M. Sheldrick Prize is awarded to a non-tenured researcher having a clear affiliation with the ECA region for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences. The prize consists of a  financial award. In ECM years, calls for nominations to the George M. Sheldrick prize are published by ECA.  The George M. Sheldrick prize is awarded twice in a three-year cycle (year of the General Assembly of the IUCr excluded).

The first prize will be awarded at the 34th European Crystallographic Meeting in Padova (26-30 August 2024).

The prize committee is established for a period of 6 years; the prize committee members are nominated by the Executive Committee.

The chairperson of the George M. Sheldrick Prize  committee issues a call for nominations in January in the year the prize is awarded. Nomination closes this year at the 1st of May.

Nominators may be ECA Individual Members, or any person from a national member of ECA, or any Corporate Affiliated Member. The nominator must ensure a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee. The nominator must indicate briefly why the candidate is nominated and may include matters such as publication record and the impact of his/her research in the scientific community. It is stressed that the research of the nominee may be – but need not to be – related to the SHELX suite of programs. A formal justification should be given about the non-tenured status of the nominee.  The minimal information to be submitted is as follows:

  1. Nomination letter: maximum 1 page, which should include:
    • overview of career milestones: scientific pioneering achievements, education
    • commitment to community,
    • nomination on behalf of whom: individual(s), university, national association, …
  2. CV of nominee (maximum 1 page):
    • Academic degrees
    • Academic and/or industrial career; appointments
    • Awards
    • Memberships
    • Teaching activities
    • Roles in committees and/or in learned societies
  3. Science impact indicators: number of publications, h-index, i10-index, …
  4. Publication list (maximum 20, the most significant ones)
  5. Justification of non-tenured status of nominee (maximum ½ page)
  6. Signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee

Nominations should be addresssed to ECA’s current past president Udo Heinemann.

More information about the ECA prizes, including the George M. Sheldrick prize, are given in By-law 8.