On the occassion of ECMs, the ECA awards five prizes: the ECA Prize, named after Max Perutz since 2004, for outstanding leadership, scientific contributions or both. Secondly, the Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize, in association with the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA), to a young crystallographer in recognition of notable experimental theoretical or methodological contributions using crystallographic or neutron scattering methods. Thirdly, the Alajos  Kálmán Prize jointly with the Hungarian Chemical Society . The Prize will be awarded to an individual researcher in recognition for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences within the last 5-10 years.  Fourthly, the George M. Sheldrick prize for a non-tenured crystallographer having outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences.  Fifthly, the Lodovico Riva di Sanseverino prize,  which is awarded   in recognition of notable contributions to the dissemination of crystallography in the field of education at all levels.

The ECA Poster Prizes, awarded during ECMs, recognize the excellence of poster contributions.