First George M. Sheldrick Prize to Marta Morana

Dr. Marta Morana from the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Florence, Italy, is unanimously selected as the winner of the first George M. Sheldrick Prize of the European Crystallographic Association in recognition of her highly successful and creative research in diverse fields of crystallography ranging from structural biology to mineralogy and functional materials.

Marta Morana’s recent contributions to research in the field of structural and functional studies of matter under extreme conditions of temperature and pressure were viewed as particularly noteworthy. Also, the prize committee greatly appreciated her various engagements in the promotion of structural science in the frameworks of the Italian Association of Crystallography and the European Crystallographic Association.

The prize committee was privileged to evaluate a strong field of nominees.

The Sheldrick Prize award ceremony will be held at ECM34 in Padova between 18.00h and 19.00h on Wednesday 28th August 2024.