Daily Archives: October 19, 2015

ECM30 in Basel (Switzerland)

Basel will held the 30th European Crystallography Meeting, ECM-30, from 28 August until 1 September 2016. ECM-30 will be a four-day vibrant and intensive scientific meeting with many learning opportunities in every current aspect of crystallography. In addition, there will be a Young Crystallographers meeting, workshops and user meetings, lunch […]

ECM-29 Poster Prizes

IUCr Poster Prize x3 Panel: Manfred Weiss, Carlo Mealli, Manuel Hinterstein, Artem Abakumov Field: Biological, Chemical and Physical Crystallography Sponsor: IUCr Prize: Complimentary print volume of International Tables for Crystallography Anton Brausemann, Institui für Biochemie, Alben-Ludwigs-Universitat Freiburg, Germany [MSS-PS Structural insight into the phytoene desaturase of rice] Eleonora Conterosito, Universila […]

ECM29 Opening ceremony

ECM29 in Rovinj, has been a big success Congratulations to the organizers and the crystallographic community! Here you can watch the Opening ceremony. The Opening Ceremony of the 29th European Crystallographic Meeting in Rovinj, Croatia, 23 August 2015. Includes the Award of the 8th Max Perutz Prize to Professor John […]

CRISTALES, a world to discover

2014 has been declared the International Year of Crystallography by the General Assembly of the United Nations. As the UN resolution itself recognises, crystallography is the science that has enabled the material understanding of our world and that is crucial to facing the challenges that humanity’s development inevitably entails. However, […]

Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Giorgio Schiro

Announcing the winner of the Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association and European Neutron Scattering Association (ECA-ENSA) The Seventh Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) is awarded to Dr Giorgio Schiro from the Institut […]

Eighth ECA Max Perutz Prize to Professor John Helliwell

John Helliwell led the development of the world’s first dedicated protein crystallography beamlines; he pioneered the collection of the first broad-band Laue diffraction patterns for protein and virus crystals using synchrotron radiation; he combined biochemistry, spectroscopy, microscopy, protein crystallography and small-angle scattering to study the crustacyanins. He contributed to some […]

PANalytical Award 2015

With the yearly PANalytical Award the company seeks to encourage and provide support for excellent young scientists who are at the beginning of their careers. The award recognizes and praises groundbreaking research that required the use of a laboratory X-ray diffraction, X-ray fluorescence or X-ray scattering instrument as the primary […]