Call for Nominations for the ECA/ENSA Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize 2018

The European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) invite nominations for the Erwin Felix Levy Bertaut Prize 2018. The Prize is awarded in memory of the scientific achievements of the late Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut, which are cornerstones in both crystallography and neutron scattering. The Bertaut […]

ECA supports young participants to Laboratory and synchrotron X-ray crystallography in Senegal

The ECA will provide grants to support the participation of young reserachers to the IUCr-IUPAP-ICTP OpenLab in Senegal next 20 November  – 2 December 2017 ( The ECA is strongly committed to encourage the development of a network of active crystallographers in Africa and is particularly aimed to favour young researchers […]

Davide Viterbo (1939-2017)

With great sadness we report that Professor Davide Viterbo passed away on 20 May 2017. Davide was well known to crystallographers around the world for his commitment not only to science, but also to serving the community with kindness, enthusiasm, and fine cultural insight. Davide has been President of the […]

ECA signs an Open Letter on recent developments in science in the US

ECA is among the large number of major European organisations in the area of science, research, innovation and higher education which have written an Open Letter to European Prime Ministers, ministers responsible for those same areas, as well as the President of the European Council and of the European Commission, […]

Bursaries for ECS4 available for young researchers

The German Crystallographic Association (DGK) and the Italian Crystallographic Association (AIC) announced the offer of travel grants for graduate or postgraduate students, from Germany and Italy respectively, planning to participate at the 4th European Crystallography School (ECS 4), Warsaw, Poland, 2–7 July 2017. This very welcomed initiative is important to […]

ECA at the 1st Russian Crystallographic Conference

The ECA President Alessia Bacchi and Past-President Andrè Roodt were invited to attend the 1st Russian Crystallographic Conference (, taking place in Moscow from the 21 to the 26th of November and chaired by the Director of the Kurchatov Institute, Prof. Mikhail Kovalchuk. The Conference was organized by the Russian […]

ECM31, Oviedo (Spain) 2018

The 31st European Crystallographic Meeting, ECM31, will take place in the Palace of Exhibition and Congresses (PEC) in Oviedo, Asturias, from 22-27 August 2018. ECM31 is setting up an attractive programme covering the latest advances in crystallography and related sciences to attract young and senior scientists as well as companies […]

4th European Crystallographic School in Warsaw

The ECS4 (2 – 7 July 2017) is dedicated to chemists and young crystallographers who would like to master their knowledge of modern X-ray crystallography and/or to improve their experimental capabilities by learning the state-of-the-art methodologies and range of possible applications of crystallography in solving chemical problems in materials science, […]

ECA at PCCr1 in Dschang, Cameroun

‘Ex Africa semper aliquid novi’ we could say quoting Pliny the Elder, after the success of PCCr1, the 1st Pan Africa Crystallographic Conference which took place in Dschang, Cameroun between 5th and 11th October 2016. The conference counted more than 200 participants from all over the world, mainly from several […]

ECA 2016

The 2016 ECA leaflet can be downloaded by clicking the cover to the right. You can also get a printed copy from the ECA booth at ECM30. See you in Basel!

Eighth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize to Linda Reinhard

The Eighth Erwin Felix Lewy Bertaut Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and the European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) was awarded to Dr Linda Reinhard from the Karolinska Institutet @ DESY, Hamburg, Germany. Linda Reinhard is recognized for her pioneering contributions to the crystallographic analysis of enzymes and the […]

Ninth ECA Max Perutz Prize to Václav Petříček

The Ninth Max Perutz Prize of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) was awarded to Dr Václav Petříček from the Institute of Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic. Václav Petříček is recognized for his practical application of the theory of aperiodic structures in his computing system JANA. […]

Excellent site to start learning Crystallography

The Crystallography group of the IQFR (CSIC, Madrid) has been for many years editing a very good site with lots of well-curated teaching materials on crystallography. These materials are available under a Creative Commons License at