Two Bertaut prizes this year!

The European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and the European Crystallographic Association  award this year two Bertaut prizes. Usually ENSA and ECA organize the Bertaut award sessions in regular alternating sequence during an ENSA or ECA congress, but due to the pandemic this could not be realized.  For this reason ENSA […]

Inauguration of the African Crystallographic Association

On Wednesday 17th November 2021 a special session was held during the online Pan-African Conference on Crystallography (ePCCr). This session, jointly organised with the African Light Source and the African Physical Society, was held to officially constitute the African Crystallographic Association and to hold its inaugural Council Meeting. The session, […]

Zofia Kosturkiewicz (1928-2021)

On 1st October 2021, the day of the Inauguration of the New Academic Year, Prof. Zofia Kosturkiewicz suffered a massive cerebral stroke and four weeks later, on 29th October, without regaining consciousness, died peacefully in a hospice. Her death is a painful loss to her numerous friends and former students, […]

ECS7 – European Crystallographic School in Lisbon, Portugal

ECS7, the 2022 European Crystallographic School will be the first one to be attended IN PERSON after the COVID19 pandemic. However, the Organization is prepared to go on-line if necessary. The school will be held in Lisbon, at the Chemical Engineering Department of Instituto Superior Técnico, Lisbon University. The program […]

Call for nominations for three ECA prizes

The European Crystallographic Association (ECA) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for three different prizes: the twelfth Max Perutz Prize. This Prize will be awarded in recognition of meritorious achievements in any branch of crystallography to an individual scientist clearly affiliated with the ECA.  More information here. the […]

Jack Dunitz (1923 – 2021)

Jack Dunitz passed away on September 12 2021, at the age of 98, in Zurich. With Jack, we lost a great scientist who not only contributed a lot to modern crystallography but, during his 75 years of research, also left impressive footprints in the world of chemistry. Jack Dunitz was […]

Juraj Sedlacek (1943-2021)

Juraj Sedlacek, 78, passed away on September 1, 2021 after a valiant battle with cancer. He was born in Slovakia on August 4, 1943, and he never missed an opportunity to emphasize that gun salvos fired on that day in Moscow were not only a tribute to the victory at […]

Wolfgang Jeitschko (1936-2020)

Wolfgang Jeitschko, passed away on August 5th, 2020, during his afternoon nap. The solid state and materials chemistry and crystallography community and especially his friend and colleagues lost an outstanding scientist, an enthusiastic teacher, and a distinguished gentleman. Wolfgang Jeitschko, born on May 27th, 1936, in Prague, finished school in […]

Freely available MOF data subset from CCDC

The Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre (CCDC) has made around 10,000 metal—organic framework structures free to academics in the new CSD MOF Collection. This has been announced in a letter in Matter. “We have seen incredible growth in the number and variety of MOFs synthesised and over the past 50 years, […]

Ekkehart Tillmanns (1941-2020)

Shortly before reaching the age of 80, Prof. Ekkehart Tillmanns passed away unexpectedly at the end of 2020 in the circle of his family in Vienna. In the same year, he had been awarded the Abraham-Gottlob-Werner-Medal in gold by the German Mineralogical Society as the latest significant recognition of his […]

Website ECM33 open!

On behalf of the European Crystallographic Association (ECA) and of the French Association of Crystallography (AFC), it is our pleasure to announce the opening of the website of  the 33rd European Crystallographic Meeting. The meeting will be held at the Music Conservatory and recently refurbished Congress Centre in Versailles, close […]

Stanko Popović (1938-2020)

With great sorrow we inform the crystallographic community that our colleague Academician Stanko Popović, Professor Emeritus, passed away on December 17, 2020 at the age of 83. Stanko Popović was born in Čitluk, Croatia, in 1938. He graduated Experimental physics from the Physics Department, Faculty of Science, University of Zagreb […]

Celebrating Rosalind Franklin’s 100-year Birthday: New Structures, New Challenges

The Biological Structures Group of the British Crystallographic Association organises its virtual Winter Meeting 2020 on Friday 18th December. It celebrates Rosalind Franklin’s 100th Birthday with a line-up of worldleading international speakers presenting some of the newest and exciting achievements in structural biology, including a substantial number of presentations related […]