Two Bertaut prizes this year!

The European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and the European Crystallographic Association  award this year two Bertaut prizes.

Usually ENSA and ECA organize the Bertaut award sessions in regular alternating sequence during an ENSA or ECA congress, but due to the pandemic this could not be realized.  For this reason ENSA and ECA have decided to award two prizes this year.

The Bertaut Prize is awarded to a young scientist (up to 8 years after finishing her or his PhD thesis) having a clear affiliation with the ECA/ENSA region, in recognition of notable experimental, methodological or theoretical contributions to the investigation of matter using crystallographic or neutron scattering methods.

The ENSA Bertaut award will be labelled ‘2021’ and the ceremony will take place during the International Conference on Neutron Scattering in Buenos Aires, Argentina (21-25 August 2022). Candidates for this prize have usually a close affiliation with neutron scattering techniques. Nominations should be addresssed to ENSA’s president Henrik R√łnnow.

The ECA Bertaut award will be labelled ‘2022’ with a ceremony taking place at the 33th European Crystallographic Meeting in Versailles, France (23-27 August 2022). Candidates for this prize can have an¬† affiliation with any field in crystallography. Nominations should be addresssed to ECA’s vice president¬† Arie van der Lee.

Guidelines for the nominations can be found on this page. The nomination deadline for the 2021 and 2022 ENSA/ECA Bertaut prizes is 31 March 2022.