ECM-30 Poster Prizes

PDBe Poster Prize

Field: Macromolecular Structure

Sponsor: PDBe

Panel: Matthew Conroy, Uwe Sauer

Prize: Book “Biomolecular Crystallography” signed by the author

Almudena Ponce-Salvatierra, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Göttingen, Germany, MS13-P13, Crystal structure of a DNA catalyst


RCSB Protein Data Bank Poster Prize

Field: Macromolecular Crystallography

Sponsor: RCSB PDB

Panel: Eleanor Dodson, Gerlind Sulzenbacher

Prize: Educational book

Angus D. Cowan, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Parkville, Victoria, Australia, MS12-P1, Structural and functional characterization of Bok, a pro-apoptotic Bcl-2 effector protein


CCDC Poster Prize (x3)

Field: Chemical Crystallography

Sponsor: CCDC

Panel: Kristina Edström, Frédéric Hatert, Anders Madsen, Nils Trapp, Pete Wood

Prize: US$ 500

Joost van den Ende, Radboud University, Nijmegen, Netherlands, MS31-P2, GRID: A new method to calculate lattice and interaction energies for molecular crystals from electron densities

Anikó Udvarhelyi, Novartis, Basel, Switzerland, MS32-P21, Towards understanding solvent-mediated conformational polymorphism

Avishek Maity, Université de Montpellier, France, MS43-P7, Solid-state reactivity explored in situ by synchrotron radiation on single crystals of SrFeO2.5 during electrochemical oxygen intercalation


SIG4 Electron Crystallography Poster Prize

Field: Electron Crystallography

Sponsors: Calidris

Panel: Philippe Boullay, Lukas Palatinus

Prize: € 500 + Book “Electron Crystallography” – IUCr Texts on Crystallography #16

Tim Grüne, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland, MS5-P2, Electron nanocrystallography for organic and macromolecular structure determination


SIG4 Electron Crystallography Poster Prize

Field: Electron Crystallography

Sponsors: Nanomegas

Panel: Mauro Gemmi, Louisa Meshi

Prize: € 300

Bin Wang, Stockholm University, Sweden, MS28-P2, Improved accuracy of unit cell determination for rotation electron diffraction data


SIG 6 Jacek Grochowski Poster Prize

Field: Instrumentation and Experimental Techniques

Sponsor: SRS Daresbury Laboratory and the University of Manchester

Panel: Vincent Favre-Nicolin, John Helliwell, Ullrich Pietsch

Prize: € 100

Anna Polyakova, EMBL Outstation at DESY, Hamburg, Germany, MS3-P14, Tailor-made beams for macromolecular crystals on P14 at PETRA III


IUCr Poster Prize (x3)

Field: Structural Biology, Chemistry and Applied Crystallography

Sponsor: IUCr

Panel: Sandy Blake, Kay Diederichs, Jordi Rius, Norbert Sträter, Radek Kuzel

Prize: IUCr Journal open-access voucher + “A Little Dictionary of Crystallography” + IUCr 2017 polo shirt

Anna V. Lübben, Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany, MS7-P8, A closer look at the parallel RNA double helix poly(rA)

Boris-Marko Kukovec, University of Zagreb, Croatia, MS32-P9, Temperature-induced single-crystal-to-single-crystal polymorph transformation in cadmium(II) trimer with pyridine-4-propanamide

Ali Abboud, Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria, MS40-P1, 3D energy dispersive detector (pnCCD) for ultra-hard X-ray Laue diffraction: In situ analysis of lattice deformation in polycrystalline copper


Oxford Cryosystems Low Temperature Prize

Field: Low-temperature Crystallography

Sponsor: Oxford Cryosystems

Panel: Leila Lo Leggio, Richard Welberry

Prize: GBP 250

Nikolei Roth, Aarhus University, Denmark, MS21-P10, Crystallographic investigation of photo-excited states in molecular crystals


FEBS Journal  Poster Prize

Field: Crystallography in Biochemistry

Sponsor: FEBS Journal

Panel: Michael Hennig, Alex Wlodawer

Prize: EUR 200

Laura Preiss, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt, Germany, MS5-P12, Structural characterization of the mycobacterial ATP-synthase c-ring and its interaction with the novel anti-tuberculosis drug bedaquilinie


Structural Dynamics Poster Prize

Field: Dynamics

Sponsor: The AIP Publishing/ACA Journal Structural Dynamics

Panel: Christine Beavers, Semen Gorfman, John R. Helliwell, Robert von Dreele

Prize: US$ 250 + one year complimentary membership in the ACA

Ioana Sovago, University of Copenhagen, Denmark, MS35-P3, What happens when thermal motion is frozen? A case study of polymorph stabilities for gallic acid monohydrate


Garland Science Poster Prize

Field: Macromolecular crystallography

Sponsor: Garland Science

Panel: Jan Dohnalek, Ivo Tews

Prize: Book “Biomolecular Crystallography” by Bernhard Rupp

David Terán, University of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia, MS5-P7, Crystal structures of Trypanosoma brucei hypoxanthine-guanine-xanthine phosphoribosyltransferase


SIG12 Poster Prize

Sponsor: STOE & Cie GmbH

Prize: € 200

Panel: Yaroslav Filinchuk, Andrzej Grzechnik, Manuel Hinterstein, Martin Fark

Field: Functional materials

Yolanda Sadikin, University of Geneva, Switzerland, MS19-P12, Anion packing and cation mobility in potential solid electrolytes Na2B12H12-xIx and (A1A2)B12H12 (A1 = Li, Na, A2 = Li, Na, K, Cs)


Swiss Society of Crystallography Poster Prize (x5)

Field: all

Sponsor: Swiss Society of Crystallography

Prize: Quartz crystal + Swiss pocket knife

Panel: Tony Linden, Piero Macchi, Antonia Neels, Tilman Schirmer, Helen Stöckli-Evans, Thomas Weber, Michael Wörle

Daniel Kratzert, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany, MS46-P3, Modelling disorder with new GUIs for ShelXIe and Olex2

Rajesh Dutta, CNRS – University of Montpellier, France, MS26-P1, Structural complexity and O2- ordering in Pr2-xSrxNiO4+δ studied by single-crystal X-ray diffraction

Kamila Pruszkowska, University of Warsaw, Poland, MS34-P11, Structural and spectroscopic investigations of cyclobutylamine and cyclobutylamine hydrates

Laura Folkers, Lund University, Sweden, MS26-P2, The mystery of the AuIn 1:1 phase

Yvonne Thielmann, Max Planck Institute of Biophysics, Frankfurt, Germany, MS2-P6, Freezing without cryoprotectant