Call for nominations for five ECA prizes

The European Crystallographic Association (ECA) is pleased to announce a call for nominations for five different prizes:

  • the thirteenth Max Perutz Prize. This prize will be awarded in recognition of meritorious achievements in any branch of crystallography to an individual scientist clearly affiliated with the ECA.  More information here.
  • the eleventh Erwin Félix Lewy Bertaut Prize.  This prize is awarded to a young scientist (up to 8 years after finishing her or his PhD thesis) having a clear affiliation with the ECA/ENSA region, in recognition of notable experimental, methodological or theoretical contributions to the investigation of matter using crystallographic or neutron scattering methods. The European Neutron Scattering Association (ENSA) and ECA  award the Bertaut Prize in a regular alternating sequence, or as specified by the two associations based on mutual agreement. More information here.
  • the third Alajos Kálmán Prize. This prize will be awarded to an individual researcher in recognition for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences within the last 5-10 years. The nominee must have a clear affiliation with ECA. The prize has been established by the Hungarian Chemical Society and is endorsed by ECA. More information here.
  • the first George M. Sheldrick Prize. This prize is awarded to a non-tenured researcher having a clear affiliation with the ECA region for outstanding scientific contributions in the field of structural sciences. More information here. George always was and still is interested to support crystallographers in their career.
  • the first Lodovico Riva di Sanseverino Prize. This prize is awarded to scientists having a clear affiliation with the ECA region, in recognition of notable contributions to the dissemination of crystallography in the field of education at all levels. More information here.

The prizes will be awarded at the next European Crystallographic Meeting (August 2024) in Padova, Italy.

Nominators for the Perutz, Kálmán, Sheldrick, and Lodovico prizes may be ECA Individual Members, or any person or group from a national member of ECA, or any Corporate Affiliated Member. The same holds for the Bertaut prize but includes the ENSA community. The nominator must ensure a signed acceptance of the nomination by the nominee. Self-nominations are allowed for the Bertaut prize, but under certain conditions.

The nominator must indicate briefly why the candidate is nominated and may include matters such as publication record and impact of their research in the scientific community. However, the uniqueness of their pioneering contributions and the usefulness of the nominee’s work will be of prime consideration to the selection committees. More guidelines and minimal requirements for nominations are found on the webpages for the different prizes.

The nominees shall not hold a current position on the ECA Executive Committee (and ENSA for the Bertaut prize) and must be a listed member of the World Directory of Crystallography.  The winners receive the award during the  ECM34 and present a lecture at this occasion.

Nominations are now open and will close on May 1st, 2024.

Nominations for the Perutz and Bertaut prizes need to be sent to the ECA Vice President who chairs these two prize committees.  Nominations for the Kálmán prize need to be sent  to the chair of ECA’s SIG13, who is also chair of the Kálmán prize committee. Nominations for the Sheldrick prize are sent to the chair of its selection committee Udo Heinemann and those for the Lodovico prize to the selection committee chair Annalisa Guerri.