

European Crystallographic Association

ECA

Report for school financial support

1. Date, location and title of meeting:

Title meeting	Hot Topics in Contemporary Crystallography 4 – HTCC4
Location	Mlini, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Date	October 1st to October 6th, 2019
Website address	http://htcc4.org/

2. Please describe how the bursary was used.

The ECA financial support of $1040 \notin$ was used to support five PhD students to attend HTCC4 by giving them bursary which covered their half-board based accommodation in a shared double room in Astarea Hotel Mlini for the duration of the workshop (5 nights, arriving October 1st and departing October 6th):

1. Sergey G. Arkhipov (b. 17. October 1989), PhD student Novosibirsk State University; 1, Pirogova str., Novosibirsk, 630090, <u>Russia</u> and Boreskov Institute of Catalysis SB RAS; Lavrentiev Ave. 5 Novosibirsk, 630090, <u>Russia</u> E-mail: arksergey@gmail.com

2. Ante Bubić (b. 14. March 1993), PhD student Ruđer Bošković Institute, Bijenička cesta 54, 10000 Zagreb, <u>Croatia</u> E-mail: abubic@irb.hr

Urszula Budniak (b. 15. March1989), PhD student
Biological and Chemical Research Centre, University of Warsaw, Żwirki i Wigury 101, 02-089
Warsaw, <u>Poland</u>
E-mail: ubudniak@chem.uw.edu.pl

4. Jure Loboda (b. 19. April 1991), PhD student Jožef Štefan Institute, Jamova cesta 39, 1000 Ljubljana, <u>Slovenia</u> E-mail: Jure.Loboda@ijs.si

5. Jianhui Wang (b. 20. May 1990), PhD student Max-Delbrück-Center for Molecular Medicine Robert-Rössle-Straße 10 13125 Berlin, <u>Germany</u> E-mail: Jianhui.Wang@mdc-berlin.de The HTCC4 was organized by the Croatian Association of Crystallographers and generously supported by Bruker AXS, JEOL and Scan d.o.o., Aparatura d.o.o., Formulatrix®, Rigaku, DECTRIS, Crystals, MiTeGen, Croatian Ministry of Science and Education, Croatian academy of science and arts, IUCr and ECA.

The scientific programme of HTCC4 was dedicated to structural biology focusing on four hot topics which were presented and discussed through lectures and hand-on sessions conducted by the leading experts in the field:

HT1: Structure determination using XFEL

- 1. Prof. Henry Chapman, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science DESY / University of Hamburg, Germany
- 2. Dr. Saša Bajt, DESY Photon Science, Hamburg, Germany
- 3. Dr. Thomas White, Center for Free-Electron Laser Science DESY, Hamburg, Germany

HT2: Cryo-electron microscopy

- 4. Prof. Jürgen Plitzko, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Department of Molecular Structural Biology, Germany
- 5. Prof. Carrie Bernecky, Institute of Science and Technology (IST) Austria, Klosterneuburg, Austria

HT3: Protein structure determination by NMR

6. Prof. Oliver Zerbe, University of Zurich, Department of Chemistry, Switzerland

HT4: Biomolecular simulations

7. Prof. Franca Fraternali, Randall Centre for Cell and Molecular Biophysics King's College, London, UK

8. Prof. Chris Oostenbrink, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna, Institute of Molecular Modeling and Simulation, Austria

The programme was additionally enriched with three invited lectures given by: Dr. Zoran Štefanić (Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia), Prof. Udo Heinemann (Max-Delbrück Center for Macromolecular Biology, Berlin, Germany) and Prof. Areej Abuhammad (University of Jordan, Jordan) as well as short presentations of the sponsor representatives: Yusuke Nishiyama (JEOL), Marcus Winter (RIGAKU), Sacha De Carlo (DECTRIS), Guillaume Brunetti (JEOL).

Also, the programme contained two sessions intended especially for young participants to encourage them to present their research: discussion triggering presentations and poster session. Based on the quality of submitted abstract, potential of abstract to trigger high-quality discussion as well as scientific background, four young participants (PhD students/ postdocs) were selected to deliver short presentations: Vera Pfanzagl (University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Wien, Austria), Christine Touma (University of Oulu, Oulu, Finland), Nives Ivić (Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb, Croatia) and Romualdo Troisi (Università di Napoli Federico II, Napoli, Italy). The "Crystals" best poster award was given to Radoslaw Pluta (Barcelona Institute of Science and Technology, Spain) for his work on "Structural basis for DNA recognition by FoxH1 pioneer transcription factor" authored by R. Pluta, E. Aragón, J. Cordero, P. Martin-Malpartida, L. Ruiz and M. J. Macias. The prize consists of a certificate and an opportunity to publish a paper in "Crystals" or in the joint Special Issue with HTCC4 free of charge.

Altogether, HTCC4 had **58 participants** (30 students, 9 lecturers, 7 organizers (two of them were also lecturers), 7 sponsor representatives and 7 accompanying persons) **from 17 countries**. In conclusion, it was a successful workshop with highly motivated participants, enthusiastic lecturers, vibrant atmosphere and good organization.



Figure 1. Participants of HTCC4

Jua Santic'

Dr. sc. Ana Šantić On behalf of the HTCC4 Organizing Committee

Zagreb, November 8th, 2019