GIG 2 - Senior Crystallographers

Reported Period: 2014-2015 Report Date: 08 July 2015

Reported by: Helen Stöckli-Evans, Howard Flack, Svend Erik Rasmussen

1. Introduction

During the past year the GIG-SC has promoted the knowledge of the existence of the Group to senior crystallographers and made plans for ECM29 and ECM30.

2. GIG web site:

http://www.flack.ch/gig2ecanews/ECA-GIG-SC.html

3. Number of ECA individual members registered with the GIG 2

4. Existence of a GIG2 mailing list: yes

Address of mailing list: Not publicly available Number of members in the GIG mailing list: 99

The GIG2 maintains communication with its members by regular updates on its website.

- **5.** Approximate numbers of researchers involved in the GIG (please indicate the basis for the estimate) probably >99 as the mailing list is as yet not complete.
- **6. List of MS organized by the GIG at the last ECM** None
- 7. Prizes sponsored/coordinated.

None

8. Past activities other than Microsymposia at ECM

None

9. Future/Programmed Activities

ECM29: Rovinj, Croatia, 23rd - 28th August 2015

- GIG-SC programme committee member, Carlo Mealli
- Co-organizers of the microsymposium *History of Crystallography and ECA, Sine Larsen and Howard Flack*

ECS2: 2nd European Crystallography School *Crystallography: Fundamentals, Online Tools and Applications*, Mieres, Spain, 31st August - 5th September 2015

• GIG-SC programme committee member *Hans-Beat Bürgi*

ECM30: Basel, Switzerland, 28th August - 1st September 2016

- GIG-SC local organizing committee member *Helen Stoeckli-Evans*
- GIG-SC programme committee member Gervais Chapuis.

10. Other Matters.

Activities of GIG-SC members

Tenth Ewald Prize: We all warmly congratulate GIG-SC members **A. Janner** and **T. W. J. M. Janssen** on the award of the tenth Ewald Prize. Both scientists come from the Institute for Theoretical Physics of the University of Nijmegen in the Netherlands. They receive the award for the development of superspace crystallography and its application to the analysis of aperiodic crystals. **Reply from A. Janner**: Dear Colleagues, Many thanks for the kind congratulations for the award of the Ewald Prize 2014 and for all the activity of the GIG_SC. This award was only possible because of the joint contributions of many crystallographers and because of unexpected deep relations between the problems investigated by Ted Janssen and myself and other crystallographic aspects. Best wishes, also on behalf of Ted Janssen. Aloysio Janner

Sine Larsen visited the University of Havana in Cuba to discuss recent advances in crystallography and to explain the meaning of the International Year of Crystallography [posted 17th Jan. 2014]

11. Brief annual activity report

During the past year the GIG-SC has continued to promote the interests of the members of the group. It has revised a standard letter to conference organizers in order to point out special problems that senior members face when attending conferences and suggestions for solving such problems. A new set of statutes have been drafted to be discussed at ECM29.

12. GIG officers, name and e-mail, and specify their main function in the GIG. Committee

Chair: Svend Erik Rasmussen, ser@geo.au.dk Co-Chair: Carlo Mealli, cmealli@iccom.cnr.it

Secretary: Helen Stoeckli-Evans, helen.stoeckli-evans@unine.ch

Webmaster: Howard Flack, Crystal@Flack.ch

Officers: Paul Beurskens, <u>beurs34@kpnmail.nl</u>
Theo Hahn, <u>hahn@xtal.rwth-aachen.de</u>