Report of GIG-SC Activity for Montreal ECA Meeting 2014.

The General Interest Group for Senior Crystallographers held a meeting on Thursday 29th August 2013 at the University of Warwick in Committee room 2 from 13.00 until 14.00.

Attendees were:

Chair: <u>Paul Beurskens</u>, The Netherlands Frances Bernstein, USA Herbert Bernstein, USA William (Bill) Clegg, UK Theo Hahn, Germany Biserka Kojic-Prodic, Croatia Sine Larsen, Denmark Carlo Mealli, Italy Moreton Moore, UK Svend Erik Rasmussen, Denmark Carl Schwalbe, UK Davide Viterbo, Italy

The meeting was opened by Paul Beurskens who presented the agenda as proposed in SC-circular #2. He summarised the background for the establishment of the GIG-SC and that Hans-Beat Bürgi was elected as chairman and he himself as co-chair at the ECM27 in Bergen in 2012. He reported that Bürgi had resigned as chairman shortly before the beginning of ECM28 and that little activity had preceded his resignation.

The history of crystallography was subject of a lively debate. All agreed that we are not historians but we should supply professional historians with knowledge that we find important to archive for future generations. We should as far as possible write down our reminiscences about important events and important crystallographers. We might draw upon written records of the history of crystallography in our own countries. It was emphasized that knowledge that is not written down is not preserved. Reference was given to the magnificent Bragg exhibition that Mike Glazer had established. In this connection Sine Larsen pointed out that no one had talked about Ewald at this meeting.

Meetings between young and old crystallographers might also provide opportunities to hand down knowledge and to tell about "Tricks of the Trade".

It was also agreed that it was highly important to establish a Home Page. Paul Beurskens mentioned that Howard Flack who was not at the meeting had expressed an interest in establishing and editing a Home Page for our GIG. Herbert and Frances Bernstein offered help with the Home Page.

Finally, election of a new chairperson was discussed. Paul Beurskens did not want to continue but he was willing to maintain and update the mailing list. Several persons were suggested but declined. Sine Larsen might accept in about two years when her research grant expires. She promised to offer support to Svend Erik Rasmussen if he would resume the task as chairperson. He agreed to do so with the caveat that he might not be alive at the time of the next ECM in 2015.

In November 2013 Howard Flack agreed to establish a Home Page for the GIG-SC and it now has a well-designed and informative Home Page. On 3rd December 2013 Helen Stoeckli-Evans accepted the office as Secretary of the group. Carlo Mealli accepted the office of Co-chair on the 17th February 2014 succeeding Paul Beurskens who remained as officer together with Theo Hahn.

The Secretary and the Chairman wrote a letter to the Local Organizing Committee of the 23rd IC of the IUCr in order to draw attention to matters of importance to Senior Scientists such as:

• "Audibility of oral presentations would be facilitated for many participants by making sure that equipment for Tele coils and FM in auditoria are activated if available. Ideally, such facilities should be standard equipment. Readability of Conference Programmes and Abstract Books gain in readability by use of not too small font sizes and by avoiding use of low contrasts such as using black print on grey or red backgrounds. As the average life expectancy is increasing and as many governments have banned age discrimination it may not be unreasonable to expect that the number of older crystallographers may increase at future conferences.

Some of the disabilities that inevitably follow with increasing age may also be relevant for younger people and it might be of interest to know if young colleagues are actually prevented from attending meetings because of disabilities"

Revised Statutes of the group have been drafted to be circulated to the members for approval.

At present 17 members have announced that they intend to go to the Montreal meeting and a meeting there will be organized, especially for election/reelection of officers.

Svend Erik Rasmussen, GIG_SC PresidentHelen Stoeckli-Evans, Prof. Emerita
GIG_SC Secretary(General Secretary and Treasurer of IUCr, 1972-81)Section-Editor: Acta Crystallographica E,
Structure Reports OnlineUniversity of Aarhus, DenmarkInstitute of Physics
University of Neuchâtelser@geo.au.dkSwitzerland

helen.stoeckli-evans@unine.ch

Date: 1st July 2014.